Board of County Commissioners

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Sanchez, Manuel A.

Manuel Sanchez
  • Departments:Commissioners
  • Title:District 5 Commissioner
  • Phone:(575) 525-5809
  • Fax:(575) 525-5812
  • Email:

845 N Motel Blvd
Las Cruces, NM 88007

Cell: (575) 386-9815
TDD: (575) 525-5951


Executive Assistant: MaryLouise Pino        Email:

CommitteesAnimal Services Center of the Mesilla Valley, El Paso Metropolitan Planning Organization, Mesilla Valley Metropolitan Planning Organization, South Central Solid Waste Authority, South Central Regional Transit District, New Mexico Workforce Connection, Doña Ana County Health & Human Services Alliance, and Spaceport America Tax District Board

Manuel Sanchez was appointed to the commission seat in District 5 on March 28, 2019. He will serve the remainder of the term vacated by Karen Trujillo, who was appointed to serve a cabinet position under the administration of New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham.

Commissioner Sanchez is originally from Anthony but grew up in El Paso. He was part of the first graduating class of Franklin High School and went to his “dream school” at MIT to study aerospace. Sanchez quickly discovered his love of mechanical engineering and after graduation in 2001, landed a position with General Electric. He lives in the North Valley with his wife and three daughters.

District 5 encompasses a portion of northwestern Las Cruces and extends north to the Sierra County line, taking in all or part of the communities in Doña Ana, Radium Springs, Leasburg, Hatch, Salem and Garfield.

Return to full list >>

The Board of County Commissioners sets policy for the governance of Doña Ana County. The Doña Ana County Board of Commissioners regularly meets at 9 a.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. Meetings are held in the Commission Chambers on the ground floor of the Doña Ana County Government Center, 845 N. Motel Blvd., in Las Cruces. Each Commissioner represents a district.